ATTACHMENT A: APO NT IAS SUBMISSION

ABOUT APO NT

Formed in October 2010, APO NT is an alliance between the Northern Land Council (NLC), Central Land Council (CLC), Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance Northern Territory (AMSANT), North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency (NAAJA) and Central Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service (CAALAS).

APO NT is working to develop constructive policies on critical issues facing Aboriginal people in the Northern Territory and to influence the work of the Australian and Northern Territory governments. As representatives from peak organisations in the Northern Territory, we share the aim of protecting and advancing the wellbeing and rights of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and communities. We also aim to provide a representative voice for Aboriginal people in the Northern Territory and to enable effective communication and information distribution between and within communities and Aboriginal organisations.

North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency (NAAJA):

NAAJA was formed in 2006. It brought together three existing Aboriginal Legal Services: North Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service, established in 1972; Katherine Regional Aboriginal Legal Aid Service, established in 1985; and Miwatj Aboriginal Legal Service, established in 1998.

NAAJA now has staff of over 100 across the Top End of the Northern Territory, with offices in Darwin, Katherine and Nhulunbuy. NAAJA provides services in a number of areas of the law including; criminal law, civil law (including family and child protection matters), Law and Justice Advocacy projects, and a prison Throughcare service.

Central Land Council (CLC):

The CLC is a Commonwealth statutory authority established under the *Aboriginal Land Rights* (*Northern Territory*) *Act 1976* and a Native Title Representative Body under the *Native Title Act* 1993.

The CLC is one of four Northern Territory Land Councils. The CLC region covers the entire southern half of the Northern Territory, an area of some 780,000 square kilometres of land. The council is made up of 90 Aboriginal people from more than 15 language groups elected from communities across the region. The CLC is first and foremost a representative organisation for the Aboriginal people in its region particularly on land related matters, including land claims and economic use of land.

Central Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service (CAALAS):

CAALAS strives for justice, dignity and equal rights and treatment before the law for Aboriginal people in Central Australia. CAALAS provides high quality, culturally appropriate and readily accessible legal services (in the areas of criminal, civil, family and welfare rights law), legal education, social justice advocacy and preventative and early intervention services to Aboriginal people and communities in Central Australia.

Northern Land Council (NLC):

The NLC processes outstanding land claims under the *Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976*, as well as undertaking responsibilities under other legislation, such as native title claims. In addition, assisting landowners with land management and economic development is now a priority. Many Aboriginal people use the NLC to assist them in 'caring for country' and to develop economic opportunities. The NLC region covers the northern part of the mainland Northern Territory.

Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance of the Northern Territory (AMSANT):

AMSANT is the peak body for Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services in the Northern Territory. It aims to improve the health of Aboriginal people in the Northern Territory through promoting and extending the principle of local Aboriginal community control over primary health care services to Aboriginal people. AMSANT aims to alleviate the sickness, suffering and disadvantage, and to promote the health and well-being of Aboriginal people of the Northern Territory through the delivery of health services and the promotion of research into causes and remedies for illness and ailments found within the Aboriginal population of the Northern Territory.